August 5, 2010

European Institutes for Advanced Study Fellowship Programme

The European Institutes for Advanced Study (EURIAS) Fellowship Programme is an international researcher mobility programme offering 33 fellowships for the 2011/2012 academic year. It proposes 10-month residencies in one of the 14 participating Institutes: Berlin, Bologna, Brussels, Bucharest, Budapest, Cambridge, Helsinki, Jerusalem, Lyons, Nantes, Paris, Uppsala, Vienna, Wassenaar. The Programme builds on the strong reputation of the Institutes for Advanced Study for promoting the concentrated, self-directed work of excellent researchers within the stimulating environment of a multidisciplinary and international group of fellows.

EURIAS Fellowships are mainly offered in the fields of the humanities and social sciences but may also be granted to scholars in natural and exact sciences, if their proposed research project does not require laboratory facilities. The diversity of the 14 participating IAS - which have agreed on a common selection procedure - offers a wide range of possible research contexts in Europe for worldwide scholars. Applicants select up to three IAS outside their country of nationality or residence as possible host institutions.

The Programme welcomes applications worldwide from promising scholars at an early stage of their careers as well as from established senior researchers.

Application assessment

The selection of applicants who are eligible for a fellowship is competitive, merit-based and conducted through an internationally independent and recognised peer review process.

The EURIAS Fellowship Programme undertakes a detailed qualitative assessment according to the following criteria:
– Scientific excellence of the applicant
– Quality of the proposal (innovative, path-breaking, high-impact)
– Ability to carry out the research proposal
– Theoretical and methodological framework of the research proposal
– Impact beyond intra-disciplinary specialisations
– Interdisciplinary potential of the research proposal
– Significance of the research proposal for the international academic community
– Relevance of a residency in an Institute for Advanced Study for the research project
– Expected impact of the fellowship on training and career development
– Proven language capacity (most IAS operate in an English-language environment, but research can be conducted in any language, and language diversity is welcome).

How to apply

Candidates apply exclusively through the online application system. Paper applications are not accepted.

To access the online application system, you will need to create an account on (see USER SPACE) and follow the procedure. After the registration of your account, you will be able to fill in an application form and to upload the relevant documents (in English exclusively).

In order to provide evaluators with relevant information to perform their work efficiently, EURIAS fellowship applicants have to submit:
– The completed EURIAS application form
– A detailed project proposal
– CV
– List of publications
– For candidates applying for junior fellowships, two letters of recommendation from scholars who are familiar with their academic work.

Applicants are also asked to specify the following in their proposals:
– The relevance and connections of the research to a wider academic context
– The aims and methods of research
– The current state and schedule of the applicant’s research
– The cooperation partners, including national and international contacts, if applicable
– The interdisciplinary dimension of the research, if relevant
– The importance of trans-national mobility for achieving research objectives
– Their career plans and motivation for participating in the programme
– Issues concerning research ethics, if relevant

Applicants are required to indicate up to three IAS as the most adequate host institutions in the order of preference, and to justify their choices. 

Application deadline is November 15, 2010.
For further details please consult

No comments:

Post a Comment